Local Holiday Tradition

The Manitoba Hydro Santa Parade is our city's longest-running free community event, established in 1909. We hope you'll make the parade a part of your holiday tradition! 

Read on to start planning your parade experience.

Street Closures:


Main Street - Northbound lanes 

Route 62 - Southbound lanes

Broadway - all lanes

St Mary Avenue - between Vaughn Street and Fort Street

CLOSED Starting at 9AM:

Main Street - Southbound lanes between Portage Avenue and York Avenue

CLOSED Starting at 12PM:
Portage Avenue - between Main Street and Memorial

Memorial Avenue - Northbound between Portage Avenue and Broadway 

Memorial Avenue - Southbound between St Mary and Broadway 

Between Portage Avenue and Broadway:

Edmonton Street between Portage Avenue and Graham Avenue - CLOSED

Vaughn Street between Portage Avenue and Graham Avenue - CLOSED

All other streets between Portage Avenue and St Mary - LOCAL/PARKADE ACCESS ONLY

St Mary Avenue and Graham Avenue - REGULAR TRAFFIC

Between Portage Avenue and Ellice:


2023 Grand Marshal

Catherine Wreford

Winner of Amazing Race Canada, 8th Season

2022 Grand Marshal

Sport Manitoba

Represented by Team Manitoba medalists: Madi Lawrence and Teagan Purvis

2019 Grand Marshal

Gloria Cardwell Hoeppner
Former Executive Director of the West End BIZ

2018 Grand Marshals

Winnipeg Jets Wives, Girlfriends, and Families

2017 Grand Marshals

Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, 2017 Canada Summer Games

Honorary Grand Marshal: Kai Madsen, Executive Director, Winnipeg Cheer Board

2016 Grand Marshal

Fred Penner

2015 Grand Marshals

Dancing Gabe

Rod Hill, Winnipeg Blue Bomber Alumni

2014 Grand Marshal

Team Jones, Canada's Olympic Curling Gold Medal Champions

2013 Grand Marshal

Tim Hague Sr., Winner of The Amazing Race Canada 2013

2012 Grand Marshal

Desiree Scott, Canada National Soccer Team